Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1) by Rebecca Roanhorse

Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1)

While most of the world has drowned beneath the sudden rising waters of a climate apocalypse, Dinétah (formerly the Navajo reservation) has been reborn. The gods and heroes of legend walk the land, but so do monsters.Maggie Hoskie is a Dinétah monster hunter, a supernaturally gifted killer. When a small town needs help finding a missing girl, Maggie is their last—and best—hope. But what Maggie uncovers about the monster is much larger and m...


Details Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1)

TitleTrail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1)
ISBN9781534413498
Author
Release DateJun 26th, 2018
PublisherSaga Press
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Urban Fantasy, Fiction
Rating

Reviews Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1)

  • Bradley
    1970-01-01
    I think this novel has been a LONG time coming and I'm glad it's here. Now. My only concern is that this UF series came out so late in the whole UF cycle thing. I needed this a decade ago. I needed a full American Indian mythological romp with Coyote and so many fantastic supernatural additions to my reading schedule! Not just fae and vamps and druids and wizards... I needed THIS!That being said, I really liked it. :) Flooding took out most of th...
  • Aila
    1970-01-01
    While this is only the first book in a series, I’m confident that Trail of Lightning will debut as a top Urban Fantasy book. The writing is absolutely captivating and my eyes were glued to the pages until 2 am in the morning, when I finally got to that climactic ending. Roanhorse does a fabulous job of creating three-dimensional characters in a refreshing dystopian world where ancient powers have come back after a multitude of natural disasters...
  • Allyson
    1970-01-01
    I got this book from the author through a Give Away and I'm so excited! I wanted to sit down and read this is one sitting but life kept getting in the way. This just meant I got to savor every moment of the journey. A lot of people are describing this as a Mad Max Fury Road esque book and I definitely agree but it made me think that this is where the Western Genre should be going. Righteous Women traveling the land striking out against those who ...
  • Nadine
    1970-01-01
    I’m ignorant when it comes to indigenous people and culture (shameful, I know), so I jumped at the opportunity to read a fantasy novel where indigenous culture was the focus. Trail of Lightning is an exciting introduction to an interesting world with a kickass main character.One aspect of the novel that doesn’t work as well as it should is the world building. The world is so deeply entrenched in Navajo legends, myths, and stories that having ...
  • Allison
    1970-01-01
    OH MY GODI was fortunate enough to read a super early copy of this and HOLY SHIT.
  • Teresa
    1970-01-01
    Don't read very much fantasy at all in adult literature but I picked this book up due to a glowing review from a dear friend...and I LOVED IT!!!I read it in one evening...I couldn't put it down..my only complaint is that I have to wait a whole year to see what happens to Maggie and Kai...how will I survive Rebecca Roanhorse :( While reading it I found myself wishing that I knew Navajo so I could pronounce some of the words...I was so wrapped up i...
  • Amanda (MetalPhantasmReads)
    1970-01-01
    Review is now up! Go request this book if you can before it comes out. Don't miss this!https://metalphantasmreads.wordpress....
  • Elena
    1970-01-01
    3.5 stars.
  • Ann
    1970-01-01
    I had a hard time getting into this story. I'd read, lay it down and have to re-read again because I couldn't remember what I'd read. I'll probably read it again sometime in the future if I get the next book in the Sixth World series. Part science fiction, part apocalypse ending of the known world. Maggie is a monster hunter who joins with Kai to search for a missing girl. Lots of Native American myths and lore. Blends of witchcraft and old world...
  • Candice
    1970-01-01
    Rebecca Roanhorse's debut novel does not disappoint. Billed as an "Indigenous Mad Max," the book boasts an entirely indigenous cast and follows monster hunter Maggie Hoskie as she teams up with an unconventional medicine man for a post-apocalyptic adventure of gods, tricksters, witches, magic, and Navajo pride. The character of Maggie is strong physically, yet suffers trauma from a previous relationship that shadows her every action (and the plot...
  • Kira Schumacher
    1970-01-01
    Vielleicht werden's noch fünf Sterne, muss ich sacken lassen, aber wow. This has been a hell of a ride. GOTT. SO VIELE GEFÜHLE. Wie bescheuert, es jetzt gelesen zu haben, wenn ich jetzt so lang auf weitere Teile warten muss. :o
  • Coolcurry
    1970-01-01
    Loved it. Full review pending until closer to the release.
  • Alex Can Read
    1970-01-01
    This review first appeared on my blog Alex Can Read.Trail of Lightning is the first book in a new Urban Fantasy series by Rebecca Roanhorse, author of the multiple-award-winning short story “Welcome To Your Authentic Indian Experience (TM)”. Trail of Lightning is her debut novel and what a debut it is!Trail of Lightning was absolutely fantastic. Even brand-new to the field Roanhorse’s writing is easily on-par with Urban Fantasy veterans suc...
  • Suncerae
    1970-01-01
    Maggie Hoskie is supernaturally gifted by her clan ancestry to kill monsters in the former Navaho reservation, now a refuge in a post-apocalyptic water world. The Sixth World has begun, and in addition to monsters, gods and heroes of legend walk the land again. Against her better instincts, Maggie reluctantly enlists the aid of Kai Arviso, a medicine-man-in-training to learn about a witchcraft that is creating a new breed of flesh-eating monsters...
  • Alice, as in Wonderland
    1970-01-01
    I don't think it's mentioned enough how underrepresented Native authors are in the literary world, but this year looks to add a few more to the pond, and I couldn't be happier. And in scifi no less!!! Yaaaay!!After the floods of the Big Water, the North American continent is survived by the Dinetah. In this new but old world, the supernatural has returned, bringing immortals and trickster gods and monsters. Maggie is recovering from an It's Compl...
  • Gretchen
    1970-01-01
    I loved this! A powerful young woman with a troubled past and a hardened heart, Maggie Hoskie fights monsters both literal and metaphorical, all the while fearing the potential monster inside herself. The writing whizzes along and the plot doesn’t ever quite succumb to its own tropes—a vibrant cast of secondary characters both human and not flesh out the story and give Maggie plenty to worry about besides herself. The magic is really cool, th...
  • Seth
    1970-01-01
    What a fantastic debut. I felt I was reading something out of the wonderful folklore of the Navajo people. Mingling a heroine that is powerful beyond measure with the troubling all to familiar past of a hero finding their way. Set in a “post-apocalyptic” region of what is a different version of the current Navajo Nation. Where magic and gods are not just stories but hand in hand with every human. Where gifts of clans awaken and give life as w...
  • Joe Jones
    1970-01-01
    A great start to a new fantasy series that continues the trend of exploring different mythologies and settings. This time we feature Native American myths and folklore set in a dystopian world. Maggie is a great character full of flaws, but also with the heart of real hero if she just can accept who she really is. Perfect for fans of Katherine Arden's Winternight books or S.A. Chakraborty's City of Brass.
  • Lisa
    1970-01-01
    A very good start to a whole new science fiction and fantasy series. This series has both a post apocalyptic feel and fantasy elements. I received a digital arc of this copy through edelweiss and it did not disappoint. Wonderful world building. I would have given it five stars but it had a bit of a slow start to it, and towards the end it started to develop into a very rich tapestry that I cannot wait to visit again.
  • Tina Christopher
    1970-01-01
    Fabulous debut! I've been looking for a great urban fantasy series to get my teeth into and this is it. Okay, I understand it's more dystopian than urban fantasy, but it's hitting that mark for me;).Intriguing characters and great worldbuilding. A couple of things I could see coming but I didn't know the details, so it was still a surprise.The one thing that's driving me crazy is that I'll have to wait bloody ages before I can put my hands on boo...
  • AM Cerce
    1970-01-01
    amazing! I can't wait for the next book, Storm of Locusts. I love the world building, very original and richly described. Maggie is tough and complex. Not the usual 2 dimensional "kick ass" heroine. I stayed up way too late to finish the book and only regret having to wait for the next installment of Maggie's story.