The Impossibility of Us by Katy Upperman

The Impossibility of Us

The last thing Elise wants is to start her senior year in a new town. But after her brother’s death in Afghanistan, she and her mother move from San Francisco to a sleepy coastal village.When Elise meets Mati, they quickly discover how much they have in common. Mati is new to town too, visiting the U.S. with his family. Over the course of the summer, their relationship begins to blossom, and what starts out as a friendship becomes so much more....


Details The Impossibility of Us

TitleThe Impossibility of Us
ISBN9781250127990
Author
Release DateJul 31st, 2018
PublisherSwoon Reads
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Rating

Reviews The Impossibility of Us

  • Silanur
    2017-03-05
    Read this as a sensitivity read and really, really enjoyed it--I'll probably post a review when the publication date is closer. :)
  • Samantha (WLABB)
    2018-07-09
    Buckets, people, I cried buckets of tears reading this one. It was emotional on so many levels. Upperman incorporated ideas of forgiveness, friendship, grief, loss, tolerance, and prejudice into a touching story of first love.• Pro: What a beautiful and emotional story. My heart was wrecked in a bunch different ways, but also filled with so much joy. • Pro: I must say, I was a fan of the book format. It was alternating POVs between Elise and ...
  • Jessica Pennington
    2017-12-13
    ADORED this book. Full review to come!
  • Kate (Beyond Bookish)
    2018-06-07
    Really beautiful! Katy is quickly becoming my new favorite author. While your waiting for this beauty to publish (July 31) consider picking up her debut Kissing Max Holden, another one of my favorites! Full Review of TIOS closer to the release date :D
  • Jaime Arkin
    2018-07-04
    This was such an emotional story… I don’t think I was expecting that when I opened it up to read the first chapter. Once I started though, I couldn’t stop and I found myself tearing through this in one sitting. Upperman has created some really interesting characters with this story, and how fitting that we’re reading something like this now when we are seeing so much racial tension and negativity in the world. Elise is forced to leave San...
  • Beth Summer
    2017-12-24
    I was lucky enough to read an ARC and all I can say is: wow. I am a huge fan of KISSING MAX HOLDEN and already knew Katy Upperman's writing is on another level, but I'm still blown away at just how unique and stunning TIOU is.First we've got the fierce romance between Elise and Mati. Their inescapable pull makes the reader feel as if we're gasping for air when they're apart. That's how good this is. Then there are the complex family dynamics, and...
  • Marci Curtis
    2018-04-28
    I wasn't prepared for this story. I had no idea it would be so emotional. It ran the gamut, from laughs to swoons, from goosebumps to tears. God, THE TEARS. I spent the last quarter of the book sobbing (no exaggeration). Because HOLY CRAP, I felt for those two kids. There's this soaring, beautiful romance, for sure, but there are also so many powerful messages about loss, desertion, racism, tolerance, love, equality, selflessness, friendship, fam...
  • rachel 007
    2017-06-20
    Agh this book is beautiful. Perfect for fans of Trish Doller and Sarah Ockler. I read an early draft and can't wait to read the final! :)
  • Michelle (Firstbooklove)
    2018-07-10
    (I received a free eARC from Xpresso Book tours in exchange for an honest review)“If you think walking away now is right, go, but know you’re taking a piece of me with you.”The impossibility of us by Katy UppermanGenre: YA, Contemporary, RomanceFormat: eARCRating: 4/5 stars(Review)(DISCLAIMER: This review is based on my opinion only.)After her brother’s death in Afghanistan, Elise is forced to start her senior year in a coastal village. S...
  • Sarah
    2018-06-29
    What a beautiful story... I cried and laughed and smiled and felt the heartbreak of these two teenagers as they fought to be together against all the reasons that they should be. Told in alternating voices and writing styles, Elise and Mati have a beautiful story to tell. Elise has recently moved with her mother to be closer to her sister-in-law and niece. After the death of her older brother in Afghanistan, Elise has been trying to survive and f...
  • Kath (Read Forevermore)
    2018-05-31
    An arc of this book was sent to me by Swoon Reads/ Fierce Reads in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.OH MY GOSH! This book! I am an emotional mess right now! This book had all the "feels," which makes me so happy. The romance between Elise and Mati was just so strong, and their bond is so beautiful. Among the romance, there are lessons of family, friendship, selflessness, kindness, love, loss, and racism. This bo...
  • Marie
    2018-06-12
    I really, reaaally enjoyed this book. It has everything I love: great, endearing characters, a swoon-worthy relationship with the complications, emotions and everything else. I really had such a great time reading it
  • Mandie Baxter
    2018-03-25
    I can not put into words how beautifully written this story is. Katy’s words swallowed me whole and spit me back out. Truly grateful to have been given a chance to read this story early. And I hope it touches the lives of many, many people after it’s release. Everyone should read Elise and Mati’s story.
  • Sara
    2018-01-28
    Oh, my heart. Katy Upperman has done it again. What a beautiful love story, such gorgeous writing, unforgettable characters. I'm grateful for the opportunity to read an ARC of this book, and can't wait to have a finished copy on my shelf next to KMH.
  • Moriah
    2018-03-08
    This was amazing. Katy Upperman did not suffer from the sophomore slump. Full review to come.*Thank you to the author for sharing a copy with me!*Full Review HERE!
  • Teenreadsdotcom
    2018-07-11
    THE IMPOSSIBILITY OF US by Katy Upperman is a captivating, heart-wrenching story about falling for someone that you know your family doesn't approve of, but doing so anyway. This book also manages to tackle important topics such as hatred, prejudice, the armed forces and Islamophobia.As the summary explains, Elise just moved to a sleepy coastal town with her mother, following in the footsteps of her sister-in-law, Audrey, and her niece, Janie. Au...
  • Kathy Martin
    2018-06-29
    Three years after losing her brother Nick while serving in Afghanistan, seventeen-year-old Elise moves from San Francisco to a small, sleepy coastal California town to be nearer to her sister-in-law and three-year-old niece. Her mother, who has spent the last three years suffering from writer's block, is not writing again. Elise is lonely. Her only saving grace is her new goldendoodle puppy Bambi and her photography.One morning, while walking Bam...
  • Kylie Corley
    2018-07-11
    I won an ARC through a Goodreads giveaway. I think it was fast that I won this, too. Life has just been so depressing lately, and reading this was like a breath of fresh air. It was beautifully written, and the words so captivating. The author did a great job in all the descriptions, I felt every high and low emotion of the characters.Highly recommend this book. Definitely going to pick up the author's other book and any further novels she writes...
  • Laura Henderson
    2018-06-21
    EEEEEKKKKK!! Omg! I've found a new favorite author! Katy's writing has blown me away. Her characters were so real and lovable! My heart ached for them the entire book and i was ugly crying at the end. This book tackled so many issues. Learning to love and to trust and learning how to live with you heart when the deck is stacked against you. My heart broke for Elise for all she goes through in this book: dealing with her brothers death, wanting to...
  • Elaine
    2018-06-14
    Thank you net galley for the advance read copy of this novel. This was a clean romance of star crossed lovers. I enjoyed the perspective of Muslim faith that played in this novel. Elise and Mati's relationship was tender and the prejudices that they each face within their families was realistic for today's young adults. The language was a bit salty at times but I appreciated that there was no sex so very much. I would recommend this novel and aut...
  • Mrs.Heather Lassley
    2018-06-08
    Seriously beautiful. I love this book!!
  • Tara
    2018-06-05
    This is a beautifully written book about two teenagers from opposite sides of the world. Elsie is still dealing with the loss of his brother in Afganistan and the move from her hometown to Cypress Beach. Mati is from Afganistan and is in California so that his father can be part of a medical trial. The story of forbidden love that is inlined with what's currently happening in the world. The only part that I disliked was the ending; it wrapped up ...
  • Rachel
    2018-05-24
    **Big thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC!**This book had an unexpected impact on me. Honestly, I was not expecting to love it as much as I did. I was a bit apprehensive when I read Mati's first chapter because I was not expecting this formatting, but I really grew to love his perspective. I went into this book expecting a cute romance and I finished with that and so much more. The discussions about racism, discrimination, love, and...
  • DJ
    2018-05-30
    Copy provided by the publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.THIS IS A GREAT BOOOK. OH MY GOD THIS IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK. It's about falling in love for the first time. It's about loss, and the grief that a family goes through. It's about racism and how it can effect us all. The Impossibility of Us left me stunned. I was expecting a fluffy contemporary. I got so much more; it was heartfelt, emotional and so damn adorable. I will b...
  • Karole Cozzo
    2017-11-29
    This is, and pardon my redundancy, a beautiful story comprised of beautiful characters, told in Katy's beautiful way.Elise is candid, and strong, and true to herself. I adore her perspective and example of how younger generations can set an ongoing example for older generations by LIVING tolerance and open-mindedness. Mati is dreamy, honorable, and gentle. You will fall in love with the beauty of his soul, right along w Elise. Upperman clearly di...